Custom editors for Windows workflow activity properties

I’m working on a real nifty project where I’m developing a workflow server for automation purposes. We’re using WF3 for it, and I must admit I’m enjoying it a lot. I haven’t worked with it since start the start of 2007, so it’s nice getting back to it.

I’ve forgotten a lot of the nitty gritty stuff, so I get to learn some stuff over again 🙂

When developing custom activities for WF, you obviously want to allow the person who’s going to use the activities in the end to easily provide values for any properties that the activity might have. For example, if your activity needs a path to a directory, you can leave it as a string and expect the person to type in the path, but this is prone to error. It’s much better to provide the user with a dialog to select a folder, isn’t it? In comes UITypeEditor…

I remembered that I’ve done it several times, but hey 2.5 years is a looong time in which to forget stuff like this.. Luckily I found a real nice example on how to do this in this post by Tomas Restrepo: http://winterdom.com/2006/08/acustomuitypeeditorforactivityproperties/comment-page-1.

UITypeEditor

~ by hendrikswan on November 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
